The Pinterest Craze, What Is It and How Do I Use It?

By now you have probably heard about Pinterest but you may not have yet jumped on the bandwagon so to speak.

This is for those of you who are not currently pinning away. What is Pinterest exactly? {I hear this from the males in my family all the time!}

The Adored Home

Let’s say you are browsing online and see something you love and don’t want to forget it? Well usually you would Bookmark it on your computer but now there’s a simple way to compile all of the great things you find online! Things like  recipes, DIY Crafts, inspiration for your bedroom makeover….all in one place – Pinterest! You can think of Pinterest as one big bulletin board! But even better it is like a bulletin board with file cabinets, since you create different “boards” {categories}.

It’s really easy, as you start pinning, you create “Boards” which categorize your pins, making them easy for you The Adored Hometo find later. You might want a recipe board for yummy things, a board to put things you want to buy later, who would have known cleaning tips, wedding ideas, shoes you love, or books to read. The possibilities are as endless as your imagination and what you like to keep. Pinterest does help you out by suggesting boards to get you started, but you may want to create your own to fit what you love to pin. {remember pinning is just a way of saying saving}

The Adored Home
Like these adorable Starbucks cupcakes I pinned on my board

Then you’ll want to add friends to your Pinterest account. That is easy too because you follow them as you follow Facebook or Twitter friends. As you log into your Pinterest account you will see all of the fantastic things your friends are pinning too. And as you see their pins you may think, “Hey I love that too!” So you  hover over their pin {picture they pinned} and click on the “Repin” button to add it to one of your boards!

You can also use Pinterest as a search engine of sorts if you are looking for an idea for a recipe, a bathroom remodel idea, or even some cleaning tips! I have used it for so many things. Just type in the search bar at the top of the page {while you are logged into Pinterest} what you are looking for. For example, I typed in “Bridal shower” when I was planning showers for my two future daughter-n-laws! Then there you have it, ideas from other pinners all over Pinterest {whether you know them or not} and you can then pin to your board ideas you love for later! {Check out my ideas I used from Pinterest for the showers. Shower #1 here and Shower #2 here!}

Once last thing, if you happen to enjoy a picture you see but don’t want to pin it to a board you can choose the “like” button instead. Those pictures which you “liked” are then stored under your tab “Likes” for you to reference for future viewing!

So how do you get started if you don’t already have a Pinterest account? You need a friend to ask you to join in the fun {It’s totally free}. So if you need someone to invite you I would love to! Send me an email with the subject line “Invite Me to Pinterest Please!” I would be more than happy to!

If you are already on Pinterest I would love to follow you! Jump on over to my Facebook Fanpage and send me your name and I’ll follow you!

I hope I have helped clear up what Pinterest is if you are not currently using it, and if you are I hope you are following me, cause I want to follow you!

Until next time,

Enjoy your day, your family, and your home! ❤

XXXOOO,

The Adored Home

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandra, what a sweet, cute blog! ‘Found you through your comment on Domestic Charm. I’m a fellow mom of four & friend of Jesus 🙂 I’ll be following along!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by and your sweet comments! I always love meeting lovers of Jesus!!
      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

I love comments {Thanks for stopping by}