Pot Pie in Cast Iron Skillet

Cast Iron Skillet Pot Pie
Photo by The Cooking Jar

I know it has been a while since I have posted, life has been a little crazy lately but today I want to bring you a recipe I found and it is made in one of my new favorite pots – a cast iron skillet! Do you own one?

I never really thought much about them and then I realize they have lasted for generations and they only need to be taken care of!

I thought I would share a little bit of the benefits of cooking with cast iron then I will share this amazing pot pie recipe cooked in a cast iron skillet.

According to Eatingwell.com you use less oil when cooking with cast iron, they are a chemical-free alternative to non stick pans and believe it or not cooking with cast iron can increase your iron intake!

While searching for new recipes to cook in my cast iron skillet I came across The Cooking Jar and this tasty recipe. Check out her blog and her step by step pictures, meanwhile, here is her recipe:

INGREDIENTS
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 5 tablespoons butter
  • ¼ yellow onion, diced
  • 5 tablespoons flour
  • 1½ cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups frozen mixed carrots and green peas
  • ½ cup celery, sliced (optional)
  • ¼ teaspoon celery seed
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 9″ pie crust
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Over medium high heat, add chicken breasts to a pot of water and bring it to a gentle boil
  2. Reduce to medium low heat and poach the chicken breasts 15-18 minutes, skimming foam from the surface when needed
  3. Meanwhile, over medium low heat, melt butter and stir in onions, cooking until onions are translucent
  4. Add in flour and whisk for 2 minutes to combine and form a roux
  5. Slowly pour in chicken broth and milk and whisk till smooth. Simmer for 10-15 minutes until the sauce thickens, whisking occasionally
  6. Add peas, carrots and celery to the sauce and season with celery seed and salt and pepper to taste
  7. Drain and remove chicken and dice into cubes
  8. Place the chicken in a 10″ skillet and pour sauce over, coating evenly. Stir to combine
  9. Roll out the pie crust to fit over the skillet, tuck in the edges and make several 1″ slits to let steam escape
  10. Place the skillet on a baking sheet to catch drips and bake at 425 degrees F for 30-35 minutes or until crust is golden brown
  11. Let it sit for 10 minutes minimum before slicing and serving warm

Want to see more of my Cast Iron Skillet Recipes? Check them out on Pinterest

Until next time,

Enjoy your day, your family, and your home ❤

The Adored Home

One Comment Add yours

  1. This looks amazing!! Love cooking in cast iron😄

    Like

I love comments {Thanks for stopping by}