Hotel Snob Disney Grand Floridian Resort Club Level Review

Disney’s Grand Floridian is a luxury resort at Walt Disney World in Florida. The Club Level has many magical perks. However, let’s start off by me openly professing I am a hotel snob. I have traveled and stayed at many hotels all at different levels of value or star rating. The older I get {and the fact I am an empty nester now} I find that hotel luxury is something I love. So with this bias I wanted to do a review of the top resort in Walt Disney World – Disney’s Grand Floridian Resort and Spa.

I have had people ask me on many occasions if is it really worth the money to stay at Disney’s Grand Floridan Resort and Spa. Disney calls this resort one of their Deluxe Resort Hotels.

When I first starting staying on property {this term refers to staying in a Walt Disney Hotel and getting the perks of doing so vs staying in a hotel off property} I have stayed at Disney Value Resort Hotels starting with Pop Century. And do not get me wrong, just the fact of being in what I refer to as the “Disney Bubble”, is great. By staying on Disney property you get to keep your car parked and use Disney Transportation and the use of early magic hours which allows you to get in certain parks earlier than they open to the public that day or stay later in the park once it closes. {The Disney Park and times change each day so check daily with Disney or use the Touring Plan App. All of this allows me to stay firmly encased in my beloved Disney Bubble. {I will do a post on staying on property benefits later}.

A Hotel Snob Review of Disney Grand Floridian Resort

villas-grand-floridian-sliver-00

Photo Credit Walt Disney World

The fist time I took the plunge and splurged on a deluxe resort at Walt Disney World was when my baby girl turned 21. As a long time Disney Annual Passholder, each time the monorail would glide past the Grand Floridian Resort I would press my nose the the window of the train car like a child and stare in wonder. I dreamed of one day being able to stay there and when I was able to have that dream come true it was the perfect way to celebrate our baby’s big birthday.

IMG_0099 (1)
21st Birthday Dinner with Pooh at Disney’s Crystal Palace

When we made our reservation I called one of the helpful cast members to assist me verses me booking online because I knew I wanted to stay in the main hotel and not in one of the outer buildings. This resort does have 867 rooms and 6 buildings so I needed to make sure I was getting the one I wanted. The cast member told me about staying at “club level” which Disney offers at their Deluxe Resorts. Club level gives you many complementary perks including access to the concierge staff to assist you with planning your trip. The concierge can help to secure dinner show tickets, arrange dining, and will assist with recreation reservations. Club level rooms also offer additional amenities including robes to use during your stay, additional full size toiletries, turn down service with a cute treat usually, USA Today newspaper, plus more magical amenities. A refrigerator and coffee maker with coffee and tea were in our room.

One of the best benefits and my favorite is the resort’s club level lounge. This lounge can only be accessed by your Magicband and only to those guests staying at club level. Several times a day {breakfast, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner snacks, and fireworks snacks} there is a variety of food and drinks for you to enjoy. You can truly eat here and not need to go to breakfast or if you want a light lunch. If you have a fireworks dinner reservation which is later in the evening, having the dinner snacks are a great hold you over for a late dinner reservation. All during the day you can get bottled water or soda from the fridge and in the afternoon and evening servings there are beer and wine selections as well.  The times are posted in the lounge or you can always ask a smiling cast member who are there to serve you. The Grand Floridian has two club levels, the one we visited was in the main building called The Royal Palm Club. This club lounge was very comfortable spot to relax and include tables with chairs, comfortable couches and chairs, TV, checkers table, and small TV for children showing Disney favorites and cute furniture just their size.

Another magical perk about staying club level is the check in process. It is simple – there is none! What??!!! It is because you are checked in when you arrive. No going to stand in line at the front desk to check in! So this is how it goes. You check in before you ever arrive. You can do that on the My Disney Experience app or online. You select you Magicbands colors and they are mailed to you prior to coming to the resort. The Magicband will be your key to the elevator that allows you on the club level. It is your key to your room, it is how you pay for things throughout your stay in all of Walt Disney World. When you arrive at the resort you tell the front gate guard you are checking in. They will call up and tell the cast member you have arrived. We valeted our car {you can also self park for free} and when we got out 2 cast members approached us and said “Hello Hersey Family Welcome Home!!!” Now I have to be honest, I had to turn my head because tears had actually formed in my eyes! The cast members spoke to my birthday baby girl and gave her a birthday button and asked to go over our itinerary to make sure if there was anything else we needed while we were there. We were taken up to our room and our luggage was brought in, ice was gotten for us, and we were asked it they could do anything else for us.

The room was very spacious, most rooms at Grand Floridian Resort and Spa are at least 400 sq ft on average. So nice and spacious. Our room had 2 queen beds, a couch, desk and chair, TV on a dresser, refrigerator, coffee maker with tea assortment, bathroom with large tub and separate room with double vanity sink. {I have since stayed again club level and the bathroom had a jetted tub!} There is a balcony with beautiful views. One visit we had views of the pool another visit we had views of the castle in the distance to view the fireworks and view of the marina.

One of the reasons I wanted to stay in the main hotel is because of the view when you are at the club lounge. You can look down into the lobby of the hotel and hear the music playing throughout the day and night from the Grand Floridian Society Orchestra who plays ragtime, Dixie, traditional jazz, and of course popular Disney Tunes too! There is also a pianist who plays on and off when they orchestra is not playing. It is such a nice touch to the Victorian Themed resort and really transports you.

grand-floridian-society-orchestra-00
Picture Credit: Walt Disney World

The dining at the resort is wonderful with some really great places to enjoy but one of my favorites is the afternoon tea at the Garden View Tea Room.

garden-view-tea-room-gallery01
Picture Credit: Walt Disney World

Disney calls the Grand Floridian Resort and Spa- “Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication.” I have to agree with amenities like 2 pools: one with an amazing slide, a beach and marina, world class spa and health club and exquisite dining. As a matter of fact there are 2 restaurants which have dining where you can see the fireworks! There are over 10 places to eat; I have eaten at most of them and have never been disappointed. Read more about Grand Floridian Restaurants and what they have to offer.

If you were to ask me is it worth the amount you pay to stay there, I would have to say that would be up to you. For me the magic experience was worth everything we paid. It was a special time and it was even more special with all the special touches.

WDWRESORTSANDMORE_LOBBY2_20170716_403584357420
Hubby and I before going to dinner in the lobby of the Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

I do a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor so you can read more about Grand Floridian and my other food and hotels reviews.

Until next time,

Enjoy your day, your family, and your home ❤

The Adored Home

I love comments {Thanks for stopping by}

