Bookcase makeover

Today I am thinking about bookcases. I have many of them in my home and I am always trying to find just the best way to style them. I go to my trusty place of ideas – Pinterest to find just the right way.

There is an art to styling a bookcase but that is not today’s topic. Today I want to talk about what I did to the back of the bookcase.

As we know the back of all bookcases are exactly the same color as the outside area of the bookcase. But you can take a plain boring bookcase and give it some pizzazz just by changing up the back side!

The Adored Home    Here is a guide on how to change the back of your bookcase in a few easy steps.

The supplies you will need are:

  • Scissors
  • Utility knife
  • Paper {I used wrapping paper I got in the dollar bin at Target}
  • Removable Adhesive Tape Tabs

The Adored Home

  1. Measure out how much paper you need on the back of the bookcase. {Allow for about 1/2 inch hangover}
  2. Cut paper with scissors.
  3. Apply Removable Adhesive Tape Tabs to the back of the paper in all four corners and every couple of inches along the edges and a few in the center. {Make sure to not apply the tapes where your 1/2 inch hangover is}
  4. Stick paper to the back of the bookcase.
  5. Use your utility knife to cut evenly the hangover leaving a perfect cut.
The Adored Home
Photo of hangover of paper before I cut it
The Adored Home
Finished!

Then style your bookcase! This took me all of 10 minutes to do from start to finish {and that included going to get all the supplies from my craft room!} The great thing is this is not permanent and I can change it out as much as I want without damage to the bookcase! Clever huh!

I have this on the landing of my staircase and as I look at this picture I see I need to stop blogging and go upstairs and do a little style makeover on this bookcase now!

Until next time,

Enjoy your day, your family, and your home! ❤

XXXOOO,

The Adored Home

Today I am partying over at:

thecsiproject_com-logo-150

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Dee says:

    I love this makeover. I bought wrapping paper too from the Dollar pin with a cute pattern and now you have inspired me!!! This project is so grea!!!
    Come link up to The CSI Project. The challenge is Crafting with Patterns. So, this is perfect. The challenge ends tomorrow so come on over.

    Like

    1. Dee,
      Thanks for stopping by and I will come on over!
      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

  2. Sweet! I love wallpaper backing in bookcases.

    Great job!

    Like

    1. Anne,
      Thanks so much and thanks for stopping by!
      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

  3. mrsbubsmith says:

    looks great! i love wallpaper inside shelving it adds such a nice pop

    Like

    1. Me too! Thanks for stopping by!
      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

  4. kathleenmph says:

    What a great idea! And it’s wonderful to be able to change it out.

    Like

    1. I totally agree! Thanks for stopping by!
      Hugs,
      Sandra

      Like

  5. Great job! I love the pop of color it adds. Thank you so much for coming by and linking up to the Pinworthy Projects Party!

    Like

  6. Christine says:

    So pretty!!!!

    Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality! I can’t wait to see what you link up tomorrow evening!

    Like

  7. Thanks for linking up at Assets and Efforts on Hickory Trail

    Angela

    Like

  8. What an awesome idea!! I have some wrapping paper that I got at the $1 Target bin section that would look awesome on my daughters book case! thanks for sharing!
    Restoration Beauty

    Like

  9. What a clever idea! And I love that it only took you some time and $1 to do it!

    Like

I love comments {Thanks for stopping by}

