Letter of Love

Today I am celebrating on the blog! Easter Sunday will mark the one year anniversary of me having surgery to remove cancer from my body! It came, we fought, and I won! Therefore, I am happy to say I am a cancer survivor!

The Adored Home

 I want to introduce you to an unique organization who gives back…

Girls Love Mail collects handwritten letters of encouragement and gives them to women going through breast cancer treatment. I first came across them last year after I had been diagnosed with cancer. My fight for cancer was not like many others, yet, it was a fight none the less. After hearing the words from my doctor, “Cancer free we got it all!” The relief I felt was like none other. I then began to feel like I needed to give back to others who were battling this horrible disease. I stumbled upon Girls Love Mail and though I had not yet completely dived into being part of what they do, I wanted to keep up with what they were doing so I continued to receive emails from them. Recently, I received their email explaining how writer Mary Robinette Kowal was challenging her followers to write a “Month of Letters.” I am one who is always game to help where I can so I decided to follow along with the challenge. For those of us who do decide to follow along, Mary is now offering a special badge for writing a letter for Girls Love Mail. To unlock the badge, you write a letter for Girls Love Mail and report back to Mary.  and when we do we receive this really cute badge

servlet

I am hoping to help spread the word to as many bloggers as I can. We obviously love to write and why not write to someone who needs some encouragement. Therefore, I am extending this challenge to you my friend. Even if you cannot get involved by writing letters at this time I do ask you to consider:

  1. Spreading the word on your social media sites like Facebook and twitter
  2. Like their new Facebook Fan Page
  3. Blog or reblog this particular blog for others to see
  4. Sign up for Girls Love Mail emails so in the future you will be reminded of them and maybe even be able to write a letter or two in the future.

One of the great things is you are doing more than writing a letter, you are sending a hand-made gift, one which will bring a smile to someone’s day!

So come on and join me and even if you can’t write now, won’t you help them spread the word? If you or someone you know is giving back in some way I’d like to help share the word. Jump on over to my Facebook page and let me know!

PS Happy Easter and Happy 1 year cancer free to me! Thanks for celebrating with me!

The Adored Home
1 Year Cancer Survivor!

Until next time,

Enjoy your day, your family, and your home!<3

XXXOOO,

Sandra

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations Sandra!! The letters sounds like a wonderful idea and I want to do it too!! Thanks for being inspiration to us all! Happy Easter!
    Rita

    Like

    1. Rita, thanks for stopping by! I think it will be a great way to help others feel better! Thanks for celebrating with me! Happy Easter!
      Sandra

      Like

  2. So happy for you! And your cheerful outlook on life truly makes the world a better place for all of us. Hugs, Katherine

    Like

    1. Thanks Katherine, I am truly a blessed woman! Thanks for celebrating with me!

      Like

  3. Easter is for new beginnings and I am pleased you were able to celebrate a new beginning when you won against the fight with cancer a year ago. It has been so nice to get to know you through your blog. You are a woman of faith with a lot of love in her heart for life and your family.

    Like

    1. Thanks Constance! I totally agree, I thought it was a perfect day to celebrate my 1st anniversary! Happy Easter and thanks for stopping by to celebrate with me!

      Like

  4. Congratulations on One Year! What a great way to spend Good Friday!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by and celebrating with me! And for spreading the word for such a great organization. Happy Easter

      Like

  5. Reblogged this on The Dragonfly Dances in Life and commented:
    I will be writing a letter for Girls Love mail in the near future. My sister was looking forward to giving back to other women battling breast cancer almost 5 years ago when she was recovering from her mastectomy surgery. We didn’t know that a year later she would be gone. Somehow, maybe this gesture will serve as a small follow through on what she wanted to do.

    Like

  6. Congratulations! It makes me happy to see people supporting each other…even when they’re hurting. Thanks for sharing your news.
    ♡ Jill

    Like

  7. Hope! That’s what it’s all about! 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s true! Thanks for stopping by and helping me celebrate!

      Like

  8. Congratulations, Sandra! We are all celebrating with you! Wishing you and your family a blessed Easter.

    Like

    1. Thanks Jill! Thanks for stopping by and helping me celebrate. Happy Easter!

      Like

I love comments {Thanks for stopping by}

