DIY Mod Podge Light Switch Cover Switcheroo

Today I am going to start a post on my newest room in my home….my shoe room! Yes, I said shoe room. Now before you start wondering why I have a shoe room, I must explain I am no “Rockfeller” I just had children who grew up and moved out! {So if your children are not old enough to move out yet, they will, and you too can convert your rooms to something you love!}

Here I was with a home which had rooms to house 4 children and 3 have left {4th leaves for college this summer. sigh.}  And I decided to convert one of the rooms to a shoe room. Actually, it started as a joke between me and my youngest daughter. We would tell my hubby we needed a shoe room for all of our shoes {ok, we might have a slight addiction to shoes}. Then one day a local department store was closing behind our place of business and my hubby surprised us with racks that they used to sell shoes on! Thus the shoe room was born!

Now, that’s not what this post is really about since the room is a work in progress still. But, I did want to show you what I did to the light switch and plug outlets.

I did not want anything boring, and this room is upstairs and would really on be seen by myself and my daughter, who houses her shoes in there as well {too bad we don’t wear the same size!} I decided the light switch cover and the outlet covers could be jazzed up!

The Adored Home
Cute right!

What you will need:

  • Tissue Paper or Wrapping Paper {I used tissue paper for these}
  • Outlet Cover {Obviously because you are transforming them}
  • Mod Podge {Did you know this year they are celebrating 46 years! WoW good for them!}
  • Foam Paint Brush
  • Scissors

This was very simple! First, I had tissue paper I loved and thought would go with this room perfectly. Second, I cut the tissue paper to a size a little larger than the cover {allow enough to fold the paper to the back of the cover}. Third, I used my foam paint brush to “paint” the Mod Podge on the front side of the outlet cover. Fourth, I placed the tissue paper over the Mod Podge, print side out. {This was using the Mod Podge as a glue.} Fifth, I folded the tissue paper over the outlet cover and added Mod Podge to the ends to hold it in place. Sixth, I poked a hole in the paper where the outlets fit into and secured the paper to the back of the outlet with more Mod Podge. Finally, I covered the front and back of the paper with Mod Podge completely. This was allowing the Mod Podge to become a sealer and finisher {after allowing each side to dry before going to opposite side.} Easy-peasy! Once it was dry I put it back up on the wall! Instant transformation which adds a little whimsy to the room.

The Adored Home

Use your imagination, you could use character wrapping paper for a child’s room, you could use flower tissue paper for a bathroom. The possibilities are endless! We do not have to have a boring light switch or outlet covers ever again!

The Adored Home
Shot of the light switch cover on the wall.

I will reveal the whole room in a later post, since the room is still a work in progress. I was sad to lose a son from this room, but in the process I am also gaining a new daughter! My son will be married in May to an awesome woman! {Actually BOTH of my sons are getting married within 3 weeks of each other to two awesome women!} {You can see them here}

Do you have a project you would like me to see? I love visiting other blogs and seeing what others are doing. Go over the my Facebook Fanpage and send me a link! {Don’t forget to like the page while you are there}

Until next time,

Enjoy your day, your family, and your home! ❤

XXXOOO,

The Adored Home

14 Comments Add yours

  1. aimskers says:

    Wow! Great idea!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, they were fun to make and look great on the wall! Thanks for stopping by

      Like

  2. Wow, and I thought the cute covered switch covers I have in my dining room and hall were really hard to make. Guess the next room I redo I’m going to have to create my own fancy ones. Thanks for the idea!

    Like

    1. They were really easy and they look great! Let me know if you try it I’d love to see them! Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  3. patti says:

    Great idea – I love anything harlequin!!

    Like

    1. Me too, stay tuned cause this week I have a harlequin ceiling you are going to love on WoW Wednesday! Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  4. Love that idea! Looks very whimsical! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much I love how it turned out. Thank for stopping by

      Like

  5. Very cute! What a fun way to add a little personality to a room. Thanks for linking this up to Monday Funday!

    Like

  6. igotthismartha says:

    I LOVE this idea! I have been thinking about replacing all of the light switch covers with new ones, but it would be expensive. This is the perfect idea!

    Like

    1. Jeni yes it is expensive to replace them. Even if you have ones that are older and yellowed you can do this quick tip and turn them into anything you want! I’d love to see what you create! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  7. Gretchen says:

    What a fun idea! What room doesn’t need more whimsy? 🙂

    Like

    1. Gretchen, I totally agree! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  8. well shoot that it cute!! Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite things hop xo

    Like

I love comments {Thanks for stopping by}

